Diamonds and Pearls


You ask me why my tears flow

Full, round, one falling upon the other

Strung together like translucent pearls

Drops of emotion filled with generosity

Yet errant, overwhelming, capricious

Cupped by moist eyes and begging

To be consoled by trembling hands

Or kissed by soft, compassionate lips

In a quivering voice I give you my answer

Life’s like a search of precious stones

Among the dull, nondescriptive pebbles

Strewn along our paths we find

Rare moments of pleasure and joy

Gleaming with the unmistakable intensity

Of diamonds that even retrospectively

Have density and endure the test of time

These are the only memories that count

What we experience here and now

These are the only moments we exist

The rest, my love, we merely live


Claudia Moscovici, The Painful Poignancy of Desire (2007)

About romanticlovepoetry

I was born in Bucharest, Romania and immigrated to the United States when I was almost twelve years old. Here I obtained an B.A. from Princeton University and a Ph. D. in Comparative Literature from Brown University. At Princeton, I met and fell in love with my husband, Dan. We live in Michigan with our two children, Sophie and Alex. I taught philosophy and literature, focusing on the Romantic period, at Boston University and the University of Michigan. Since 2003, I've been working with a group of international artists on postromanticism, a contemporary art movement that I co-founded with the Mexican sculptor Leonardo Pereznieto. Postromantic artists strive to express beauty, sensuality and passion in their artwork. I do the same in my scholarly book "Romanticism and Postromanticism" (2007) and in a collection of love poems, "The Painful Poignancy of Desire" (2007). If you're interested in taking a look at this art, our website is postromanticism.com. I'm also a fiction writer. My first novel, "Velvet Totalitarianism" (2009), describes a family's survival in communist Romania due to the strength of their love. You can find out more about me and my writing on my author's profile on Notablewriters.com.
This entry was posted in Claudia Moscovici, love, love poems, love poetry, passion, passionate love, poems, poetry, romantic love poems, romantic love poetry, romantic poems, romanticlovepoetry, sensuality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diamonds and Pearls

  1. enni22 says:

    This is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.