Traces of You


I trace the contours of your being upon the folds of life

I wrap you up into myself to stop the flight of time

I count the years and save each day we leave behind

You are the treasure I will cherish until the day I die


I see the gleam of happiness in your tired eyes

I close the blinds so only you can be my source of light

And in the dark when I’m alone I climb upon your rays

You are the sunlight I will seek until the end of my days


Claudia Moscovici, The Painful Poignancy of Desire (2007)


About romanticlovepoetry

I was born in Bucharest, Romania and immigrated to the United States when I was almost twelve years old. Here I obtained an B.A. from Princeton University and a Ph. D. in Comparative Literature from Brown University. At Princeton, I met and fell in love with my husband, Dan. We live in Michigan with our two children, Sophie and Alex. I taught philosophy and literature, focusing on the Romantic period, at Boston University and the University of Michigan. Since 2003, I've been working with a group of international artists on postromanticism, a contemporary art movement that I co-founded with the Mexican sculptor Leonardo Pereznieto. Postromantic artists strive to express beauty, sensuality and passion in their artwork. I do the same in my scholarly book "Romanticism and Postromanticism" (2007) and in a collection of love poems, "The Painful Poignancy of Desire" (2007). If you're interested in taking a look at this art, our website is postromanticism.com. I'm also a fiction writer. My first novel, "Velvet Totalitarianism" (2009), describes a family's survival in communist Romania due to the strength of their love. You can find out more about me and my writing on my author's profile on Notablewriters.com.
This entry was posted in Claudia Moscovici, life, love, love poems, love poetry, passionate love, poems, poetry, postromanticism, relationships, romantic love poems, romantic love poetry, romantic poems, romanticlovepoetry, The Painful Poignancy of Desire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Traces of You

  1. i felt a beautiful choice of words to match your thoughts…. all the best… 🙂

  2. i mean, i felt u have it…it was a compliment… 🙂

Comments are closed.