a night like a counterfeit Picasso, by Paul Vinicius

by David Graux

painting by David Graux

a night like a counterfeit Picasso
Poem by Paul Vinicius
Translated from Romanian by Claudia Moscovici
image by Kalstek Photography

image by Kalstek Photography

I caught the sun last night
climbing down from my bed
with bare feet
it had your body
and me
it’s not that I no longer had the heart (since heart I had)
only instead of a sex I had two slippers with red tassels.
and that’s when winter arrived
and that’s when spring came
and that’s when my brother (the Martian)
returned from the warm planets
assuming the form of two house slippers with especially bright red tassels.
and that’s when that blue woman who resembles you
when you awaken from me passes before my eyes
with a teardrop as big as the moon
trickling down her cheek
climbing down from my bed
with bare feet
About romanticlovepoetry

I was born in Bucharest, Romania and immigrated to the United States when I was almost twelve years old. Here I obtained an B.A. from Princeton University and a Ph. D. in Comparative Literature from Brown University. At Princeton, I met and fell in love with my husband, Dan. We live in Michigan with our two children, Sophie and Alex. I taught philosophy and literature, focusing on the Romantic period, at Boston University and the University of Michigan. Since 2003, I've been working with a group of international artists on postromanticism, a contemporary art movement that I co-founded with the Mexican sculptor Leonardo Pereznieto. Postromantic artists strive to express beauty, sensuality and passion in their artwork. I do the same in my scholarly book "Romanticism and Postromanticism" (2007) and in a collection of love poems, "The Painful Poignancy of Desire" (2007). If you're interested in taking a look at this art, our website is postromanticism.com. I'm also a fiction writer. My first novel, "Velvet Totalitarianism" (2009), describes a family's survival in communist Romania due to the strength of their love. You can find out more about me and my writing on my author's profile on Notablewriters.com.
This entry was posted in love poetry, Paul Vinicius poet, poems, poetry, postromanticism, romantic poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.