Stars orchard

windmill-under-the-stars

Stars orchard

and other nights with bluish black hair

….

on Earth

poem by Paul Vinicius

translated from Romanian by Claudia Moscovici

 

Do you know why

your soul is transparent

and concave

for me?

 

So that I can drink

the moon

from you

About romanticlovepoetry

I was born in Bucharest, Romania and immigrated to the United States when I was almost twelve years old. Here I obtained an B.A. from Princeton University and a Ph. D. in Comparative Literature from Brown University. At Princeton, I met and fell in love with my husband, Dan. We live in Michigan with our two children, Sophie and Alex. I taught philosophy and literature, focusing on the Romantic period, at Boston University and the University of Michigan. Since 2003, I've been working with a group of international artists on postromanticism, a contemporary art movement that I co-founded with the Mexican sculptor Leonardo Pereznieto. Postromantic artists strive to express beauty, sensuality and passion in their artwork. I do the same in my scholarly book "Romanticism and Postromanticism" (2007) and in a collection of love poems, "The Painful Poignancy of Desire" (2007). If you're interested in taking a look at this art, our website is postromanticism.com. I'm also a fiction writer. My first novel, "Velvet Totalitarianism" (2009), describes a family's survival in communist Romania due to the strength of their love. You can find out more about me and my writing on my author's profile on Notablewriters.com.
This entry was posted in Paul Vinicius poems, Paul Vinicius poet, Paul Vinicius poetry, poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.